Daily Archives: February 6, 2010

New Zealand Community of the Year Award winner is

6th February 2010

A Gala Awards Presentation was held on Wednesday night at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Auckland, to celebrate the inaugural New Zealander of the Year Awards.

Full credit must go to the individual winner, Ray Avery, who was named by Prime Minister John Key as the New Zealander of the Year. His inventions have literally saved millions of lives.

The finalists were competing for 5 different awards;

Senior New Zealander of the Year – won by Sir Eion Edgar of Otago.

Young New Zealander of the Year  – won by Divya Dhar, of Manukau.

Local Heroes Award  – won by Haami (Sam) Tutu Chapman of Manukau.

And the point of this post today is about the Community of the Year Award.

This years award goes to Victory, Nelson.

According to media reports the award was for Victory Village, a term coined by Helen Watson (chairperson of the Victory Primary School board of trustees) in her nomination entry.

The naming came from a desire to illustrate the very strong bond between the Victory Primary School and the local Victory Community Health Centre.

The press release from the Awards committee mentioned;

Victory Village in Nelson, a unique example of community-based support achieving positive health, social and educational outcomes.

In a front page article on Thursdays Nelson Mail, reporter Alice Cowdrey noted “Over the past 10 years, members of the community have worked hard to turn Victory from one of the city’s scruffest areas into a suburb with strong community spirit.”

Further info on the general vicinity of Victory, here.

An editorial piece also featured in yesterdays paper – read it here.

What are the NEW ZEALANDER of the Year Awards?

The finalists were chosen from hundreds of nominations made by friends, families, politicians and leaders from the worlds of business, music and the voluntary sector. An eminent  panel of judges, including awards patron and former Prime Minister Jim Bolger, Dr Roderick Deane former chief economist, Dame Malvina Major, former All Black Michael Jones and Judge Ken Mason, carefully considered each nominee. The winner of each of the five categories will receive a handcrafted, New Zealand made trophy and $5,000 towards their work from sponsor Kiwibank.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine